Declutter Your Mind

I am making a habit of writing every day.

Habits are important for several reasons.

In my case the habit of writing allows me to collect the insane amount of thoughts I have on any given day.

I looked up a statistic today and I believe I can attest to it’s validity. The average human has over 6,000 thoughts per day. If this is true I feel like I personally have that beat by a country mile. I wish there were a way to accurately count and fully affirm this statistic because I truly believe I would make the Guinness book of World records by smashing that number.

Isn’t it crazy how we mentally go through the process of housing and shelving certain thoughts while acting on and sharing others?

Side note:. Has anyone watched the show Hoarders? I can only imagine that is what my mental shelf looks like.

Man…. It is crowded in there.

Sifting through all of these thoughts and prioritizing them is a daunting task. I am not the guy who will come up with 10 effective ways to clear the clutter or ask you to follow me for more tips. I am just a 47 year old man who loves Jesus and works hard to share what God puts on my heart. What I can tell you is there is instruction in the Bible to help us when it comes to our thoughts and how we should proceed. 2 Corinthians 10 4-6 says:

The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. 6

That last part “….We take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ” is probably the hardest task of all.

For those of you who are in the word, in your prayer closet, have discernment, and actively practice and walk this thing out that may not be as difficult as someone who doesn’t know Christ in that way. For the rest, that is an overwhelming prospect to sign onto and fully understand or accomplish.

Look, we all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. We all have lived in fear, doubt, shame, condemnation, and comparison culture. We all have insecurities. Life isn’t perfect.

What I can say is this:

We are all created in the image of God. He has been plotting out your life before the foundations of the Earth. He has given you free will to do what you want, when you want, where you want, and with who you want.

That doesn’t mean you should.

That means He has given you a responsibility to seek Him. He wants you to pray to Him. He wants you to hold those thoughts captive and pray about them. He wants you to cast your anxieties on Him through prayer and petition. Basically, He wants you to pray about everything and seek His council. He also wants it to be your decision. This, I believe is how we declutter the week long episode of Hoarders from our minds. Prayer is a powerful tool and a direct line to God. He is everywhere at once so what you pray about with a sincere heart will be heard and answered in His time.

Enjoy the rest of your day today knowing God is listening and He is rolling up His sleeves to do the work of loving and helping you!

One thought on “Declutter Your Mind

Leave a comment